Have you ever eaten Zein?

Posted on 24 January 2012 in Blog by L. Schneider
Tags: ,

You may have never heard of Zein before but chances are you have eaten it often and even if you are a label reader, you may never have come across it listed on an ingredients label.

Zein is made from corn, or maize, and is a colourless, flavourlous substance that is used in many ways in food production ‚Äì most notably in confectioners glaze on cakes and lollies, and as the outer casing for medications, vitamins and other supplements. Whilst it is digestible, it can be a problematic substance for those who are gluten intolerant, and is yet another ‘food’ that enters into our diets without us really knowing or understanding that it is there or what its function or effects might be.

Medications and supplements are increasingly promoting that they are gluten free and this would indicate that something other than Zein has been used. Zein may not be much of a concern, but if you are gluten intolerant it is one of the ingredients you would need to avoid.

If you found this article valuable, you can download the Chemical Maze App to your iPhone now or purchase the book online.

Have easy-to-use information on thousands of potentially harmful ingredients at your fingertips.

Lindy Schneider is a writer and researcher with a keen interest in health, wellbeing and natural childcare. She is an advocator of a chemical-free lifestyle in the best interests of her family, the community and a sustainable world.

Comments on 'Have you ever eaten Zein?' (0)

    Comments are closed.